We have 3 separate children’s groups; babies (6 months to 2 years), Toddlers (2 years to 3 years) and Pre-school (3-5 years)

Our pre-school room is run from a large free-flow hall where all children have the space to actively explore construction, role-play, reading, quiet, and focus actively areas with ease. We tend to plan our pre-school creative and fun activities around all area of the EYFS. This includes the specific areas of literacy, mathematics, understanding the world and expressive art and design. Children will gain confidence in these specific areas in preparation for school. Our preschool activities and planning take into account the

levels and stages of individual development and needs of each child,as well as children’s interests picked up from observations and assessments.

We follow the EYFS framework, which allows all children to build on the skills they

already have whilst also giving them the opportunity to learn new ones.

Our structured nursery environment involving planned and free choice activities helps children toward meeting the seven key areas of learning. When planning to meet these areas, our staff will assess individual needs, abilities and interests.

For all children we operate a daily report system. Staff write down a daily report on your child based on activities they’ve taken part in and a few highlights of their day. Feedback from you about your child’s time at home is both welcome and helpful. We also hold parent-teacher evenings twice a year to discuss your child’s progress.

For our daycare, our toddlers and babies we plan lots of creative, sensory, messy play, and role-play activities. Toddlers are encouraged them to use their ideas and imagination when taking part in activities. Toddlers are also taught social skills such as sharing, taking turns, making friends and being kind. We also encourage them to be independent, for example, wiping their own noses, getting dressed, and potty training.

Children’s Learning and Development

As mentioned earlier we are guided by the Early Years Foundations Stage (EYFS 2017 UK) in all areas of children’s learning and development. The EYFS sets the standard that all childcare providers must adhere to. It ensures that all children learn and develop effectively and consistently, and are kept healthy and safe at all times.

The four overarching principles of the EYFS are:

-Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning

-Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships

-Children learn and develop in enabling environments

-Children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates

There are seven areas of learning

identified in the EYFS and which shape our educational programme:

Three prime areas

  • Communication and language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal Social and Emotional Development